Order for Guest
Your shopping basket is empty.

Russian Philharmonic of Novosibirsk

Oval Hall
Classical Concerts at Sheffield City Hall

Tickets £21, £19, £16 Students & Under 18's £5 (subject to booking fees)

Thomas Sanderling conductor
Alexander Sitkovetsky violin

SHOSTAKOVICH Festive Overture
PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No. 2
RIMSKY-KORSAKOV Capriccio espanol
RACHMANINOV Symphonic Dances

The Siberian capital's orchestra is no stranger to these shores, and Thomas Sanderling completes this season’s exciting trilogy of all-Russian concerts in Sheffield with a programme that opens with Shostakovich’s ebullient Festive Overture, one of its composer’s happiest creations. Alexander Sitkovetsky, a violinist of both brilliant technique and natural musicianship, is then soloist in Prokofiev’s G minor Concerto, with its slow movement of ravishing beauty.

As well as being full of Spanish colours and dance rhythms, Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio Espanol is a study in virtuoso orchestration. So too are Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances. In them, the composer’s rich musical imagination was stimulated by the different phases of man’s life: ‘Noon’, ‘Evening’ and ‘Midnight’. The results are simply stunning.

View the rest of Sheffield International Concert Season

Tickets for the Russian Philharmonic of Novosibirsk (subject to booking fees) at Sheffield City Hall are available online at www.sheffieldcityhall.co.uk through the ticket hotline on 0114 2 789 789 and in person at the Sheffield City Hall Box Office.

Promotional Code

  • If you have a Promotion Code please enter it here: